Begonias and Bordeaux


wineonmymind

My mother’s hands have NEVER touched a drop of soil- EVER!!! But she” loves nature ” so every year she supervises ” The Planting of the Begonias ” ! This, of course, involves me planting and she directing.

It always starts with a visit to the nursery.

This is where my mother carefully inspects each plant for color and size. Two reds, two peaches, two whites and two yellows…the same plants and colors every year. I once worked with a woman who, each year, planted red and white impatiens. Three red, three white, three red and so on in that order year after year. My mother is kind of like that.

Normally here is what happens- she picks out her eight begonias.

I carefully load them into the car.

We arrange them in the bed in front of her house.

I plant them.

I go home and pour a huge…

View original post 200 more words

One thought on “Begonias and Bordeaux

Leave some thoughts or comments:

